My little goblin

Happy Breastfeeding Month and World Breastfeeding Week! Breastfeeding is a touchy topic and I have not yet been able to wrap my head around why, considering it is why God gave us breasts; to feed our young.  Yet society is totally fine with Vickie exposing all her secrets at the drop of a hat….Anyways,  I digress.  (Still love my girl Vickie and her secrets).  As always I am here to be relate-able to other mamas and parents.

Growing up I had never seen anyone breastfeed so when I first had sass I was a little hesitant to dive into the whole experience.  I decided to ease into it and exclusively pump with her. (She had a gnarly tongue tie so she refused to latch anyways so it just worked out well for me).  I  was able to exclusively pump for 8 weeks for her and decided to stop when it was time for me to go back to work.  My office at the time didn’t have a designated lactation room, we had an empty office that didn’t lock so I was a little skittish about the whole thing.  Not to mention a nasty case of Mastitis around 6 weeks PP…so it just wasn’t something I had my heart set on.  Enter formula.

Fast forward to today…here I am with our little man and currently at 14 and a half months of breastfeeding.  I remember telling my husband that I really wanted to succeed at it this time around.  I had major mom guilt when I stopped EP-ing for sass and I just hoped to make it to 6 months this time.  Well turns out our little guy is a tiny boob goblin. He has basically refused a bottle from the start.  We had a few good streaks of him taking one, but he just has a preference I suppose.

IMG_20170802_113138_517

Looking back, I am embarrassed to say that I used to find it odd and unnatural to nurse a baby after their first birthday and now here I am with a 14 month old who is showing no signs of fully weaning yet.  He goes through phases of only wanting to nurse 3 or 4 times in a 24 hour period to the past week reverting back to what feels like newborn days and not letting me out of his sight.  We are currently working on “boob manners”  because he is getting a bit rude and unruly with his frisking.

According to the CDC’s 2016 breastfeeding statistics, 8 in 10 mothers begin breastfeeding their babies at birth, but only about half are still breastfeeding at 6 months and less than a third at 12 months.  For the life of me, I can’t seem to find how many mothers continue to breastfeed after a year, apparently we are like a lost treasure and extremely rare. Boob Unicorns. Support is such a HUGE thing when it comes to breastfeeding.  Just hearing how proud someone is of your achievements is a real morale booster.  I honestly couldn’t have done it without my husband telling me how amazing I am day in and day out.

PicsArt_08-02-01.31.35

I have been on the other side of it though, a formula mom, and I can honestly say feeding babies is the best option.  Feed all the babies! Whether with breast milk or formula, it is what works best for the family of the child.  So feed on mamas and don’t let anyone get you down!

Below is what my mornings often look life.  Trying to work with a little goblin refusing to unlatch, multitasking at it’s best.

20170802_120233

Leave a Reply

